

Scholarly Commons @ UNLV Boyd Law

Other Items

William S. Boyd School of Law: The First 20

2005

Senate Concurrent Resolution Commending Dean Morgan and the Boyd School of Law

Wiener-Rogers Law Library, University of Nevada, Las Vegas -- William S. Boyd School of Law

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholars.law.unlv.edu/boyd20years_other_items

Recommended Citation

Wiener-Rogers Law Library, University of Nevada, Las Vegas -- William S. Boyd School of Law, "Senate Concurrent Resolution Commending Dean Morgan and the Boyd School of Law" (2005). *Other Items*. 11. https://scholars.law.unlv.edu/boyd20years_other_items/11

This Article is brought to you by the Scholarly Commons @ UNLV Boyd Law, an institutional repository administered by the Wiener-Rogers Law Library at the William S. Boyd School of Law. For more information, please contact youngwoo.ban@unlv.edu.



aconcorrection of the concorrection of the concorre

Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 19

Introduced by Senators Amodei, Beers, Care, Carlton, Cegavske, Coffin, Hardy, Heck, Horsford, Lee, Mathews, McGinness, Nolan, Raggio, Rhoads, Schneider, Tiffany, Titus, Townsend, Washington and Wiener

Oceguera, Horne, Allen, Anderson, Angle, Arberry, Atkinson, Buckley, Carpenter, Christensen, Claborn, Conklin, Denis, Gansert, Gerhardt, Giunchigliani, Goicoechea, Grady, Hardy, Hettrick, Hogan, Holcomb, Kirkpatrick, Koivisto, Leslie, Mabey, Manendo, Marvel, Assemblymen McClain, McCleary, Mortenson, Munford, Ohrenschall, Parks, Parnell, Perkins, Pierce, Seale, Sherer, Sibley, Smith and Weber

WHEREAS, Dean Richard Morgan has served with distinction in the United States legal education community for more than 24 years, including service as Dean of the Arizona State University College of Law and Dean of the University of Wyoming College of Law, service on behalf of the American Bar Association and the Association of American Law Schools and a career that has been marked by awards for excellence and leadership; and

WHEREAS, Dean Richard Morgan was selected in 1997 to be the founding Dean of the William S. Boyd School of Law at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas, the first public law school in the State of Nevada; and

WHEREAS, Dean Richard Morgan, by virtue of his experience, talent, commitment and vision, planned the creation of the William S. Boyd School of Law, recruited an outstanding faculty of leading legal educators from throughout the country and led the school, following its opening in August of 1998, to provisional and full accreditation by the American Bar Association and membership in the Association of American Law Schools in record time; and

WHEREAS, Due in large measure to the leadership of Dean Richard Morgan, the William S. Boyd School of Law has become an outstanding center for legal education and scholarship as well as faculty and student involvement in programs designed to enhance the understanding and practice of law and service to the State of Nevada; and

WHEREAS, In 2003, in its first ranking as an accredited law school, the William S. Boyd School of Law was ranked 82nd out of 187 accredited law schools in the United States by U.S. News & World Report, which is an unprecedented ranking for a new law school; and

WHEREAS, Recognition of the William S. Boyd School of Law as a leading center for legal education is demonstrated by the fact that in 2004 the school received more than 14 applicants for each available seat in its firstyear class; and

WHEREAS, Graduates of the William S. Boyd School of Law already are demonstrating leadership in positions of responsibility, including those in the Nevada State Legislature; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF NEVADA, THE ASSEMBLY CONCURRING, That Dean Richard Morgan and the administrators, faculty, students and supporters of the William S. Boyd School of Law are to be commended for the school's success and contributions to the betterment of the State of Nevada; and be it further

RESOLVED, That the Secretary of the Senate prepare and transmit a copy of this resolution to Dean Richard Morgan and the William S. Boyd School of Law.

> ADOPTED BY THE SENATE April 20, 2005

President of the Senate

Secretary of the Sene

ADOPTED BY THE ASSEMBLY

April 20, 2005